wms-football-camp

WASHINGTON ELEMENTARY SCHOOL
HOME OF THE MUSTANGS

1100 N. Washington
Wellington KS 67152

Office: (620) 326-4370
Office Fax: (620) 326-6480
Library: (620) 326-4376

ADMINISTRATOR
Principal - Mrs. Ann Shinliver // ashinliver@usd353.com
Secretary/District Free/Reduce Lunch & Title - Mrs. Anne Biles // abiles@usd353.com

wms-football-camp

******
NEW NUTRITION SERVICES - MENUS, INFO & MORE - CLICK HERE

wms-football-camp
CLICK ON "AGENDA" FOR BEST VIEWING RESULTS

wms-football-camp

CLICK ON TEACHER'S NAME for

their "CLASSROOM" Page

Ann Shinliver - Principal - ashinliver@usd353.com

Jayme Lowe - Kindergarten - jlowe@usd353.com



Barb White - 1st Grade - bwhite@usd353.com



Amy West - 2nd Grade - awest@usd353.com



Liz Aguilar - 3rd Grade - laguilar@usd353.com



Bob Meyer - 4th Grade - bmeyer@usd353.com



Lacey Koester - 5th Grade - lkoester@usd353.com

wms-football-camp
**********
APPLICATION FOR FREE AND REDUCED PRICED MEALS
**********
REQUISITION FORM
**********
MILEAGE TABLE
***********
ELEMENTARY HANDBOOK 2016-2017
**********
WASHINGTON SUPPLY LIST 2016-2017

wms-football-camp

ACCELERATED READER

"HOME CONNECT" ACCELERATED READER

WASHINGTON LIBRARY CARD CATALOG

KANSAS BOOK CONNECT

Fantastic Free Math Websites

Apples for the Teacher-- http://www.apples4theteacher.com/math.html Several interactive math games, includes: tangrams, geometric shapes, money, interactive number charts, telling time, number sense, and more!

Cool Math 4 Kids-- http://www.coolmath4kids.com/ “An Amusement Park of Math and More”. Especially check out the “Math Lines” and “Number Twins” games under the Addition category & “Math Lines: xFactor” under the multiplication category. The “Lattice Multiplication” category explains the steps of lattice multiplication very clearly, (could be a good reference for parents!)

Cool Math-- http://www.coolmath.com/ Very colorful site, filled with lots of activities and tutorials for the upper elementary grades, includes: pre-algebra, fractions, algebra, geometry art, puzzles, and “other cool stuff.”

A+ Math-- http://www.aplusmath.com/ Play interactive math games, create flash cards, and print math worksheets.

Gamequarium Math-- http://www.gamequarium.com/math.htm The math section of the “Gamequarium” website. There’s a great variety of games of different quality and difficulty. I enjoyed playing the “Cash Out” game in the “Money Math” section.

Super Teacher Worksheets— http://www.superteacherworksheet.com/ Lots of free math worksheets, including computation, graphing, money, time, “mystery pictures,” etc. Each worksheet includes an answer sheet as well.

Primary Games, Math Section— http://www.primarygames.com/curriculum/math.htm
Includes a variety of math games & skills, which are indicated by math subject and grade level on the curriculum guide.

Math Playground— http://www.mathplayground.com/ Includes interactive games and “Build Your Own Math Worksheets” sections. Ideal for the upper grade levels.

Free Interactive Phonics & Reading Sites:

SSCrabble— http://www.themaninblue.com/experiment/SSCrabble/

(This site lets you play an online form of Scrabble.)

Starfall.com— http://www.starfall.com

(Interactive site featuring "Zac the Rat" and other stories & games featuring vowel sounds; you can order free workbooks and miniature "Take-Home" books!)

KOL Jr— http://kids.aol.com/KOL/1/KOLJrStories

(KOL Jr. [published by AOL for kids ages two to five] organizes their narrated storybooks into: Animals, Arthur, Fairy Tales, Family and Rhyming. Whichever you choose, you'll be rewarded with read-along words highlighted in red as the storyteller reads the story out loud, and the pages (with their original illustrations) are turned automatically. The stories take about forty seconds to load on a DSL, so be prepared to wait a bit if your connection is slower.)

Word Lab— http://www.primarygames.com/langarts/wordlab/start.htm

(Fun & challenging word gam. Guess all ten words by filling in the missing letters. At the beginning of each round, you will be presented with a new word with only two letters showing. Using your keyboard, type in your guesses for the remaining letters before the time runs out.)

See and Spell— http://www.primarygames.com/see-n-spell/see-n-spell.htm

(You can choose to highlight various skills, such as long vowel words, blends, digraphs, etc. from this site.)

Letter Rip— http://www.primarygames.com/langarts/letterRip/start.htm

(Create words by selecting tiles that are next to each other in order. Each word must be at least 3 letters and no more than 8 letters long. Race against the clock to see how many words you can spell in 2 minutes.)

Wordo-- http://www.primarygames.com/langarts/wordo/start.htm (Clear the tiles before they stack to the top by spelling words with 3 or more letters.)

Word Cube— http://primarygames.com/arcade/virtualworlds/franktown/minigames/wordcub...
(Click on a letter to start forming a word. Surrounding letters that can be used will turn red. Try to use as many letters as possible in each word. Words with 4 or more letters give you more time on the clock.)

Flip Words— http://www.primarygames.com/langarts/flipwords/start.htm
(Click on the red letters to link them into words. The first letter of valid words will be used to reveal letters in the hidden phrase. If you can't find any words click the shuffle button.)

Word Scramble— http://www.primarygames.com/langarts/wordscramble/start.htm (Rearrange the letters to form a valid word. You may click the hint button to get the meaning of word.)

Coconut Vowels— http://www.arcademicskillbuilders.com/games/coconuts/coconuts.html (A great interactive phonics game in an “arcade” style.)

Word Frog— http://www.arcademicskillbuilders.com/games/frog/frog.html
(Interactive “arcade” style game to practice reading synonyms, antonyms, and homonyms.)

Blending Dragon— http://www.ictgames.com/blending_dragon.html (Direct your dragon with the mouse and catch the globes with real words. Choose the phoneme that you wish to work with.)

Spellbound— http://www.bbc.co.uk/education/dynamo/den/spelling/index.htm (View words, then unscramble to spell correctly.)

Magnetic Letterboard— http://www.woodlands-junior.kent.sch.uk/Games/mag/spelling.html (Click on the magnets on the board & drag them to make words, using phonetic “word families.”)

Click, Cover, & Spell— http://www.woodlands-junior.kent.sch.uk/Games/mag/spelling.html (Practice spelling words, using various vowel patterns.)

Dinosaur Eggs— http://www.ictgames.com/dinosaurwordsrepeat.html(Listen to the voice and choose the egg that shows that word.)

Space Station— http://www.sadlier-oxford.com/phonics/5_6/spacestation04/spacestation.htm (Build a space station by using word study skills - Divide the word in blue into syllables and enter it into the box with a '-' between the syllables.)

Build a Sentence— http://fen.com/studentactivities/WallOfWords/wow19.html (Drag scrambled words to build a sentence & a wall in a city.)

Captain Dave's Lost Treasure— http://dcls.org/pirate/ (An internet pirate treasure hunt.)

Little Animals Activity Center— http://www.bbc.co.uk/schools/laac/story/sbi.shtml (Interactive stories that are read with sound.)

Reading Comprehension Exercises(Beginner Level)— http://web2.uvcs.uvic.ca/elc/studyzone/200/reading/index.htm

http://web2.uvcs.uvic.ca/elc/studyzone/330/reading/index.htm

(Online interactive reading resources that cover: Analyzing Text, Audio and Text, Proofreading, Reading Comprehension Advanced, Reading Comprehension Beginner, Reading Comprehension Intermediate, Short Stories, Vocabulary Grades 3+)

Classic Fairy Tales— http://www.classicfairytales.com/en/main

(Interactive site. Fairy tales are read & animated. Includes games as well.)

Book Pop— http://www.web-pop.com/readersindexflash.html

(Children’s Stories by Stephen Cosgrove with audio.)

Christmas Stories— http://www.northpole.com/Overview/StoryList.html#Workshop

(A collection of Christmas stories with audio.)

Power Proofreading— http://www.eduplace.com/kids/hme/k_5/proofread/index.html

(Students select their grade level and must proofread selections of text and correct the errors.)

Book Adventure— http://www.bookadventure.com

(A free reading motivation program similar to Accelerated Reader for children in grades K-8. The site allows students to create their own book lists from over 6,000 recommended titles. The students then take multiple-choice quizzes on the books they've read in print and are eligible to earn points and prizes. The students must register to use the site; however, registration is free.)

EZ School— http://www.ezschool.com/index.html

(Fantastic site with free games, audio stories, worksheets—you name it. Choose from a variety of grade levels.)

Storynory— http://storynory.com

(Wonderful audio stories, all narrated by Natasha Gostwick,Story Nory is an archive of stories old and new, with a brand new recording released every week. These can be listened to on the computer, easily transferred to an iPod, or copied to a CD for listening in the car. The stories are classified as Original, Fairytales, Classics, Educational and Junior.)

Arthur’s Story Scramble— http://pbskids.org/arthur/games/storyscramble/scramble.html

(Place short stories, featuring Marc Brown’s Arthur, in the correct order.)

SqoolLibrary— http://sqoollibrary.com

(A large variety of free ebooks are available at this site.)

wms-football-camp

WASHINGTON STAFF EMAILS
Ann Shinliver - Principal: ashinliver@usd.com
Anne Biles - Secretary/District/Title:abiles@usd353.com
Jayme Lowe - Kindergarten: jlowe@usd353.com
Barb White - 1st Grade: bwhite@usd353.com
Amy West - 2nd Grade: awest@usd353.com
Liz Aguilar - 3rd Grade: laguilar@usd353.com
Bob Meyer - 4th Grade: bmeyer@usd353.com
Lacey Koester - 5th Grade: lkoester@usd353.com
Kim Hefley - School Counselor: khefley@usd353.com
Hana Withington - SPED Teacher: hwithington@usd353.com
Gina Schnelle - Title I/Reading Specialist: gschnelle@usd353.com
TD Buck - Physical Education: tbuck@usd353.com
Pam Thompson - Music: pthompson@usd353.com
Helen Jones - Custodian: hjones@usd353.com
Title 1 - Marilyn Sears // msears@usd353.com
At Risk - Traci Smith // tsmith@usd353.com
Librarian - Tiffin Meyer // timeyer@usd353.com
Para Educator - Teresa Pierce // tpierce@usd353.com
Para Educator - Grace Rusk // grusk@usd353.com
Para Educator - Terrance Nichols // tdnichols@usd353.com
Para Educator - Jamie Sowersby // jsowersby@usd353.com
Para Educator - Mary Ann Coulter // macoulter@usd353.com
Para Educator - Sawyer Stone // sawyerstone@usd353.com

wms-football-camp

CLICK HERE FOR WASHINGTON "PICS/VIDEOS" ARCHIVES

********************

WASHINGTON * 1100 N Washington * 620.326.4370