Seniors recognized at Class Night

Senior Night 2024 kicked off with recognition of the newest inductee to the Crusader Wall of Recognition at WHS. Mr. Rick Phelps, along with senior selection committee members Kyra Cornejo and Gavin Witham, introduced the 2024 inductee, Kim Rutledge.


Throughout the night, numerous awards and scholarships were announced, as well as several Career and Technical Education Pathway Completers receiving their cords for completion of classes in a specific concentration.



Below is the list of awards/recognition for the night:


Wellington Young Professionals Scholarship - Carley Hamilton & Blaire Vazquez


Farm Bureau Financial Services Scholarship - Kayden Martin


JR Metzen Memorial Scholarship - Gavin Witham 


KanOkla Academic Scholarship - Kendall Janzen


Cowley College Work Ethic Scholarship - Cloe Bonham


Cowley College Trustee Scholarships - Hunter Worley & Carley Hamilton


Cowley College Presidential Scholarships - Aniston Zeka, Avery Yonash, Olivia Smith, and Madison Baker


Cowley College Tiger Academic Scholarship - Conner Walker


Cowley College Scholarship - Tatum Rountree


Cowley College Automotive Certificate - Frederick Blair


Cowley College Associates Degree Graduate - Kendall Janzen


Sumner-Cowley Electric Cooperative Scholarship - Tatum Rountree


Wellington Chapter PEO Scholarship - Carley Hamilton


Stephen Jamerson Memorial Scholarship - Lyric Cornejo & Madison Baker


Kiwanis Scholarship - Anika Fairbanks and Olivia Smith


Dennis Ramey Scholarship - Avrey Thompson


Wellington Women’s Golf Association Scholarship - Aubrey Hunt & Evelyn Trafecanty


Wellington Fire Department Scholarship - Erik Roberts


Patsy McNett Memorial Scholarship - Anna McMinn & Blaire Vazquez


Sibyl K. Wells Scholarship - Danny Walker


Kansas All-Star Scholars Fund Recipients - Ella Amrein, Cloe Bonham, Natalyn Creed, Lyric Cornejo, River Douglas, Maggie Dry, Thalia Garcia, Katelyn Haines, Carley Hamilton, Scarlette Haviland, Aubrey Hunt, Katelyn Kessler, Kayden Martin, Gabriele Mason, Anna McMinn, Caleb NEfzger, Shelby Popplewell, Tatum Rountree, Savannah Saunders, Olivia Smith, Avrey Thompson, Evelyn Trafecanty, Blaire Vazquez, Conner Walker, Gavin Witham, Hunter Worley, Avery Yonash, Whitney Zeka


OSHA Certifications - Wyette Eagle, Trent Langford, Derrick Lowe, Landyn Glenn, Kenneth Redford, Sam Wylie


Kenneth L. Everhart Memorial Scholarship - Lyric Cornejo, Olivia Smith, Gavin Witham


Social Sisterhood of Wellington Scholarships - Shelby Popplewell, Olivia Smith, Anniston Zeka, Lyric Cornejo, Tatum Rountree, Madison Baker


Sturgis Family Fund “Be Like Steve” Scholarship - Coltin Clark, Sheadyn Stewart, Tatum Rountree, Conner Walker, Evelyn Trafecanty, Anniston Zeka


Peterson Family Scholarship - Lyric Cornejo

Student Council Scholarships - Katelyn Haines & Carley Hamilton


KWHS 12 Top of the Class - Kyra Cornejo


KSHSAA Citizenship Award - Katelyn Haines & Conner Walker


Governor’s Scholars Award Representative - Carley Hamilton


Kansas Board of Regents Kansas Scholars Curriculum Recognition - River Douglas, Thalia Garcia, Emma Gooch, Katelyn Haines, Carley Hamilton, Caleb Nefzger, Tyson Jones, Gavin Witham, Hunter Worley


Kansas State Scholars - River Douglas, Emma Gooch, Katelyn Haines, Carley Hamilton, Caleb Nefzger, Gavin Witham, Hunter Worley




Graduating with Honors:


Cum Laude - River Douglas, Emma Gooch, Gavin Witham


Magna Cum Laude - Hunter Worley, Caleb Nefzger


Summa Cum Laude - Katelyn Haines, Carley Hamilton





Photos Courtesy of